Monthly Archives: May 2017

CIA Humor


Title:                      CIA Humor Author:                  Thomas Sileo Sileo, Thomas (2004). CIA Humor: A Few True Stories From A 31-Year Career. Alexandria, VA: Washington House OCLC: JK468.I6 S55 2004 Table of Contents: . Introduction . The Director of Central Intelligence … Continue reading

Posted in CIA | Tagged | 1 Comment

Knight’s Black Agent


Title:                      Knight’s Black Agent Author:                 John Bingham Bingham, John (1975). Knight’s Black Agent. London: Gollancz LCCN:    76366178 PZ4.C588 Ni10 Date Posted:      May 10, 2017 A veteran MI5 officer (actually Le Carrè’s mentor and model for George Smiley) reveals a … Continue reading

Posted in British Intelligence | Tagged | Leave a comment

The Black Widow


Title:                      The Black Widow Author:                 Daniel Silva Silva, Daniel (2016). The Black Widow. New York, NY: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers OCLC:    973883288 PS3619.I5443 B35 2016 Subjects IS (Organization) — Fiction. IS (Organization) Allon, Gabriel (Fictitious character) — Fiction. … Continue reading

Posted in Israel | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The English Teacher


Title:                      The English Teacher Author:                 Yiftach Reicher Atir; Reicher Atir, Yiftach (2016). The English Teacher: A Novel. New York: Penguin Books LCCN:    2015049266 PJ5055.39.E42 M6713 2016 Summary “For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning … Continue reading

Posted in Israel | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Loose Threads


Title:                      Loose Threads Author:                 Elizabeth Ticknor Ticknor, Elizabeth (2016). Loose Threads, a Mystery. Bookstand Publishing (self published) ISBN:     978-1634983815 Unknown catalog classification Date Posted:      May 5, 2017 Reviewed in The Intelligencer[1] Lil and David, retired CIA operatives living in … Continue reading

Posted in CIA | Tagged | Leave a comment

The Master and Margarita


Title:                      The Master and Margarita Author:                 Mikhail Bulgakov Bulgakov, Mikhail (1967). The Master and Margarita (translated from the Russian by Michael Glenny). New York: Harper & Row LCCN:    67022898 PZ3.B869 Mas2 Notes “Published in the winter of 1966-67 in … Continue reading

Posted in Russia | Tagged | Leave a comment

Herblock A Cartoonist’s Life


Title:                      Herblock A Cartoonist’s Life Author:                 Herbert Block Block, Herbert (1958). Herblock’s Special for Today. New York: Simon and Schuster. LOC: 58013755, E835 .B56 Block, Herbert (1964). The Herblock Gallery. New York: Simon and Schuster. LOC: 68055952, E846 .B55 … Continue reading

Posted in World War II | Tagged , | Leave a comment