In Pursuit of Platinum


Title:                      In Pursuit of Platinum

Author:                Vic Robbie

Robbie, Vic (2012). In Pursuit of Platinum: The Shocking Secret of World War II. Los Gatos: Smashwords Edition

OCLC:    923839986

E book

Date Posted:      January 6, 2017

The real story about the attempt to smuggle a fortune in platinum out of Paris in the legendary Bullion Bentley. But the Bentley has an even more valuable human cargo, a mysterious Frenchwoman with a secret that could change the course of the Second World War. Alena and American Ben Peters are targets of Hitler’s ruthless investigator Ludwig Weber, whose family will be executed if he fails. His orders are to silence Alena before she can reveal her secret; capture her young son and take him back to Berlin; and recover the Banque de France’s platinum. As they flee their hunter, they experience the stark and tragic realities of war and the raw emotions of two brave people living on the edge of fear. And not everything is as it seems. Who is Alena and what is her secret that could destroy everything the Nazi movement stands for?

Review by Patricia A. Wilson

A tale of intrigue in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Harris with the cutting edge of a Tom Clancy or W.E.B Griffin wartime yarn. Readers have said: Enjoyed the book immensely. Hard to put it down. Plenty of action, romance and international intriue. A well -deserved 5-star book! Richard Small The opening pages grab and don’t let go! A great WWII novel – Bros Washburn Absolutely riveting. I read it end to end and way into the night. Look forward to more – Rabinder SikandLOVED it. More please. Thanks! – John S Webb Unputdownable. An enthralling read. It would make a blockbuster film. It leaves the reader wondering right to the end – and afterwards – Jon MarcusHolds the reader’s attention from start to finish. – Sara from EssexI have a lot of friends who are fans of this kind of novel – Aubrey Coletti Read it in two sittings. Gripped me from start to finish. Made an excellent Xmas present for my dad and my father-in-law who absolutely loved it too! Can’t wait for your next book – Nic HindleReally enjoyed the style. Well-developed characters that truly came alive in my mind. The pace of the sto-ry was good and the pursuit across Europe felt knowledgeable and well constructed. Simon P ButlerThis builds and is gripping. It would make a good film. Enjoyable and well written. I would recommend this book – Fiona LeverVery enjoyable book. If you like reading Alan Furst and Phillip Kerr you will like this book. More than the other au-thors i mentioned he gets to the point of the story and it moves quickly – Richard A Fisk JrBased on historical facts, I enjoyed reading this version of history. I recommend the book to any one who likes historical fiction – Jack M CookNon-stop action with a thrill-ing ending. Cannot wait for the next one! – R M Love For readers of WWII fiction I rec-ommend this book. The story plot is very interesting and exciting. One of the best I have read.

Clearly Patricia Wilson advocates for the book. Caveat. Perpendat itaque lector cavendum (civilis).[1]

[1] On occasion, personal loyalties and opinions can be carved in stone and defended with a vengeance — at times with some venom thrown in. In these situations, the actual importance of the subject matter is dwarfed by the amount of aggression expressed. Retain a sense of proportion in all online and in-person discussions. [From The Intelligencer: Journal of U. S. Intelligence Studies.]

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in World War II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Pursuit of Platinum

  1. Pingback: Best Spy Novels | Intelligence Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s